Creamy Gorgonzola Mayo burgers with sweet & spicy slaw.

Recently I’ve been watching Pinterest for recipe ideas. I love “cleaning up” a recipe and seeing how close I can come to the original without blowing my macros.

This was a take on a pin I found for turkey burgers and since I only had beef on hand, I adjusted! The original recipe calls for LOTS of extra oil and cheese as well as real brown sugar.

If you’re not keen on “fake” brown sugar use the real stuff but trust me on the added oil (which I omitted from my recipe). You DONT need it. Especially if you’re not using fat free protein. 🙂

I loved these burgers SO much that I’m wondering how I’ll ever go back to my old standby?!

Whatcho sexy self will need for these mouth watering burgers:

For the slaw:
1 head of napa cabbage, sliced into shreds
2 teaspoons diced garlic (I use the pre chopped in a jar!)
1/2 teaspoon paprika
1 1/2 tablespoons Splenda brown sugar blend
1 teaspoon sriracha or hot chili sauce
1 lime, juiced

For the burgers themselves:
1 pound lean ground beef/chicken/turkey (I used 95/5 beef)
1 teaspoon sea salt
1 teaspoon ground pepper
1/2 teaspoon smoked paprika
2 teaspoons chopped garlic
2 green onions, sliced

For the creamy gorgonzola “mayo”:
1 cup plain Greek yogurt
3 ounces gorgonzola cheese, crumbled
1/8 teaspoon sea salt
1/8 teaspoon ground black pepper

directions:
(as a note, I like to make the slaw first and have it sit in the fridge.)
chili garlic slaw
Spray a large skillet with cooking spray & heat over medium heat. Add the garlic and cabbage, tossing well to coat and cook for about 2-3 minutes, continuously stirring. Add the paprika, brown sugar blend and sriracha, tossing well to combine (I like to use kitchen tongs to pick up and turn over the cabbage). Remove the cabbage and place it in a large bowl, adding the lime juice and again tossing well. Place the bowl in the fridge so the slaw can cool completely (unless you’d like it warm, but I love cold slaw on a warm burger, yummm).

In a bowl mix together the ground protein, salt, pepper, paprika, garlic and green onions until just combined. Gently mixed until just combined and form into patties, I like 5oz patties. Heat your grill or a large skillet over medium-high heat and quickly spray with cooking spray. Add the patties and cook until brown on both sides, about 5 minutes per side.

For the mayo, you’ll combine the gorgonzola, the yogurt, salt and pepper together in a bowl and stir and mash until combined – refrigerate if you’re still cooking your burgers. Keep in mind you can make the “mayo” early in the day or even a day ahead.

If you’re tight on carbs, plate the slaw FIRST then crumble your burger on top with a serving of the mayo drizzled across like a salad – you have room for a bun, getcha one!!! Toast that puppy and layer on the goodness. You’ll thank me later 😉

20140314-153221.jpg

Leave a comment